Nashville: Lil Bit Country

Howdy ya’ll! I think it is time to let you know about my trip to Nashville.

Nashville was basically on my list of places to go for its links to the American Country music scene. After that, I was not expecting much. As a city it does everything that it says on the tin – there is country music and there are a lot of bars. This is definitely a party town, but I also encountered lots of family groups here. Not the most beautiful place I have ever been (there was a lot of roadworks causing pavement closures), Nashville despite being a sprawling city is very concentrated around the downtown music and nightlife area. Whilst not my favourite place that I have been, it was still pretty interesting to experience, and definitely worth a stop-off!

  
Here are a couple of top tips: 

– Broadway is the street for all those wishing to experience the famed ‘Honky Tonk’ bars. Open all day everyday (with happy hour generally being 4pm-7pm), each place offers drinks and a wide selection of country inspired live music. A couple of famous ones to look out for are Tootsies Orchid Lounge and Robert’s Western World. You will also be able to purchase the signature cowboy boots or other trinkets on this street.

– Nobody walks anywhere. Considering how spread out Nashville is, the buses are pretty terrible too. For a major city to only have buses going every 30 mins-1.5 hours to parts of its suburbs is pretty shoddy. but, there is a free shuttle bus in operation within the downtown area that will take you around the main bits. Otherwise, Uber is probably your best bet.

– Nashville was the first place where I have actually had any hassle because of my gender. This ranged from comments as men walked past to people slowing down in cars. My personal favourite was the guy who said I had a ‘cute outfit’ (it was a play suit, or ‘romper’ if you are American). Hence also why I tended towards using Uber.

– If you are looking for the history and memorabilia side of Nashville, there is the Country Music Hall of Fame (the main place to go), the Music Hall of Fame & Museum (which covers a wider variety of American music development), and the Johnny Cash museum (the only place endorsed by his family). They are all roughly the same price, $19-$25, but in some cases a student ID or signing up to their websites in advance can get you a discount.

    
 That is everything I can think of at this moment in time. I know it sounds like a bit of a mixed bag, but honestly I had no serious problems and actually had a pretty great time going out with a couple girls from Ohio State that I met in my Airbnb.

Veggie/Vegan Note: this is actually a pretty great place to get vegan donuts apparently! There are a couple of options – Vegan Vee Gluten Free Bakery and The Wild Muffin.

Anyway, onwards and upwards!

– M x

Leave a Reply

